Dare To Bare

This post is sponsored by Dove® ClearTone™ Deodorant – designed to visibly reduce underarm dark marks and even skin tone.

For much of my life body image was something I never gave much attention. I made it all the way through high school without giving a second thought about how I looked. I should caveat, it was a nice body. I was a cheerleader and played softball, so I got plenty of exercise. It really would have been eye-roll worthy for my former self to complain. However, given our society and the images young women are bombarded with every day, the fact that I made it through my late teens without a care in the world seems like somewhat of a rarity.  (*Thank you mom and dad for instilling that much confidence in your daughter)

Me, in highschool. Apparently feeling pretty good about myself and hamming it up, as usual.

Ten years later.

Everything is different. My metabolism has slowed. My enthusiasm to work out is gone. My confidence in terms of body image is still pretty high, but I realize I married a guy who will literally tell me I look good no matter what. Do not trust him, Edita. Trust the mirror, and the fact that my favorite pair of jeans ripped as I did my lunge and tug routine to get them on (and they weren’t F21, people!). I figured I would be okay through winter, but as soon as New Year’s approached and the gyms started to bump up their “New Year, New You” marketing campaigns, I knew it was time. I needed something that I could get addicted to, but the gym just wouldn’t cut it.

Since then, I have found two lovely addictions to help whip me back into shape.

For the first few months of this year I attended The Dailey Method regularly. If you haven’t tried or heard of it, the workout is sort of a combination of Pilates and ballet. I always wanted to be a dancer. In a dream life I would have made it to the Top 20 of So You Think You Can Dance. Sigh. The great thing about The Dailey Method, is that when I shut my eyes and stretch against that ballet barre, I can imagine, if only for a few seconds, what it would be like. Plus, the work out will eventually have you looking like a long and lean dancer if you stay committed. Then came March, and my membership expired. These types of barre studios are pretty expensive. Fantastic, and totally worth it, but expensive.

Around that same time, my husband encouraged me to attend a new bootcamp he had tried called Fitness Never Sleeps. I protested until he told me about a Yelp deal they were having for first-time members. Afterall, micheladas and a good deal are the way to my heart. We joined and five months later are still going strong. Yes, WE! We found something we can do together, which is awesome. Also? I like the way my arms look in photos now. Summer clothes? Bring them on!

Admittedly, there are still certain parts of my body that I don’t love– but the point is my confidence is back up and I feel great.

At the top of the PG&E trail last weekend.

Next up, we started a 21 day sugar detox. No sugar means no classic sweetener in my Starbucks, no refined carbs, no alcohol or even fruit! I’m on day two. Yikes. I’ll follow up in the next couple weeks to let you know how it panned out.

What do you do to feel great in your skin? Any tips, tricks or regimens?

I was compensated for this post as a member of Clever Girls Collective. All the opinions expressed here are my own.

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Dare To Bare

  1. Robin says:

    Omg I should do a sugar detox too! After Sunday though because I’m drinking sangria!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

